Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Linux Kernel Programming Exercises?

Posted by GigaQuantum 
I'm a college student who is trying to get a lot better at Linux kernel hacking. I took an OS course and am reading some books, and that's helpful to learn how the kernel works, but I really need to do some kernel programming exercises to get a lot better.

I have been searching and can't seem to find any source of Linux kernel programming exercises. When I learned C/C++, I found some great books with programming exercises that were very helpful, and that helped me to learn C/C++ much better (like Herb Sutter's immensely popular books, which present problems along with some hints & guidance, and a difficulty level assigned to each problem). I am dismayed that I can't find something similar to help people improve at kernel hacking!

I'm just looking for exercises of the form "alter the kernel scheduling algorithm to do XYZ" or perhaps "rebuild Linux's paging system to do XYZ." Basically, a collection of exercises to help people get better at kernel hacking. (As you can see, it's very difficult for kernel newbies like me to even fill-in the XYZ in order to generate worthwhile exercises for ourselves).

Anyway, to the point: does anyone know of a good source of Linux kernel programming exercises? I have been searching but can't seem to find much of anything. I figured that maybe someone knows of some obscure web site or book that isn't coming up in my searches.
Re: Linux Kernel Programming Exercises?
March 12, 2012 01:35PM
I am trying to add a new scheduling policy but cant understand from where to start can you please help me
March 13, 2012 02:34PM
hi,
i m in linux kernel devlopment n i m going to do my final year project in linux kernel scheduler ,i want to add my written modules in the linux kernel scheduler's file so ,how i can do this.
November 10, 2017 02:51PM