Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

IPC From Kernel

Posted by joshpowers 
IPC From Kernel
January 27, 2011 06:21PM
Howdy,

I am a complete Linux noob, just to get that out of the way up front. With that said I have built an LSM and compiled it into my kernel allowing myself to stack a Kernel Module into a couple of LSM hooks (just for testing/experimenting).

Now in my Kernel Module that is hooking into the LSM I am intercepting attempts to read the file system, reading the file in question, hashing it and I would like to now pass that hash over to a userland app and have it make a decision about the file access (allow/deny sort of thing).

I had planned on using Domain Sockets from the kernel to communicate with a userland process and then to reply back with my answer. However I am stumped. When I attempt to use any of the socket sys calls (socket(), send(), bind(), ect) I realize that those functions are not in linux/un.h and linux/net.h ect. They are in sys/un.h and sys/net.h ect. However as far as I can tell sys/*.h is all usermode stuff so I cannot import them.

I then fiddled about with trying to use sys_socket(), sys_send(), ect which in an excited moment does compile, however I realize that these functions are not exported for my use, I get warnings from the compiler about the problem.

Hopefully that is enough background, so now my question. Am I barking up the wrong tree entirely? Is there a different approach to getting the info to userland and back? If I should be using Domain Sockets, what am I missing to get them working in the kernel?

I have been searching about the topic for an entire day now so I apologize is it is something obvious.

Thank you in advance for any help.
Re: IPC From Kernel
March 22, 2011 04:33PM
Well it has been an interesting ride. I learned a lot since I asked this question and figured I should clean up the hanging question.